Delhi Mcd Mayor: Aam Aadmi Party Or Bjp? Who Will Become Mayor In Delhi – Delhi Mcd Mayor: Aam Aadmi Party or BJP, who will become mayor in Delhi? understand the latest equation

Election of mayor, deputy mayor and six members of the standing committee of the house is to be held on January 6 in Delhi. Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena has fixed January 6 as the date for the first meeting of the MCD. During this, first of all the swearing-in ceremony of all the newly elected councilors will be held and after that the election of mayor, deputy mayor.

This time in the MCD elections, the Aam Aadmi Party has won the maximum 134 seats, while only 104 councilors of the BJP have been elected. The majority mark in the Municipal Corporation is 126. This means that the Aam Aadmi Party currently has eight councilors more than the majority mark. Despite this, a big question is arising that what will happen in the election of mayor? Is the BJP preparing to beat the Aam Aadmi Party again in the numbers game or will Kejriwal form his government in the MCD as well? Let’s understand…

How will the election happen?

First the Lieutenant Governor will appoint the senior most Councilor of the House as the Presiding Officer. After this, the District Judge of Central Delhi will administer the oath to the councilors one by one. The mayor will be elected after the oath-taking ceremony of the councillors. When the mayor takes over, the election of the deputy mayor will take place. After this, six members of the Standing Committee will also be elected.

How many voters will cast their vote in the election?

According to the Delhi MCD Act, all the elected councilors of the corporation will be able to vote in the election of mayor, deputy mayor. Apart from this, all seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs from Delhi will be eligible for voting. The 13 members of the Legislative Assembly also have voting rights. Means total 273 voters will vote. At present, the Aam Aadmi Party has 134 members in the Municipal Corporation. All the three members of Rajya Sabha also belong to you. At the same time, all seven members of the Lok Sabha are from the BJP.

Who will be the mayor?

The statement of the then BJP state president Adesh Gupta came soon after the Delhi MCD results. Then he had said that whatever may be the result, but the mayor will be of BJP only. However, later he had said that we will raise the voice of the people by being in the opposition. However, in spite of this the question started to arise as to which party the mayor would belong to? This question is also being raised because the anti-defection law is not applicable in the Municipal Corporation.

To understand this, we spoke to senior journalist Pramod Kumar Singh. He said, ‘Even though the Aam Aadmi Party has got absolute majority, the BJP is also not far behind. In such a situation, if some members of the Aam Aadmi Party go astray, then the game can get spoiled. It also has to be seen which way the nine Congress and three independent councilors will go?

Pramod further says, ‘As of now, the Aam Aadmi Party is in a very strong position. Some councilors of Congress may also go with you. In such a situation, it is possible that the Aam Aadmi Party will be successful in getting its mayor made.

Woman will be the first mayor, tenure will be only for three months

As per the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, the term of the councilors of the corporation is for five years. Every year a new mayor is elected from among the elected councillors. According to the act, first of all a woman has to be elected mayor. After this, any councilor can stand for mayor in the second year. The post of Mayor is reserved for SC-ST in the third year. After this, it becomes normal again in the fourth and fifth year. The municipal year begins on the first of April. In such a situation, whichever mayor will be elected on January 6, his term will be till March 31 only. After this the new mayor will be elected.

Leave a Comment